Robert A. Rapaport Reappointed as Commissioner of the VWC

Press Release Date

Commissioner Robert A. Rapaport

[Richmond, VA]- On January 27, 2020, the General Assembly of Virginia reappointed Robert A. Rapaport as Commissioner of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission (VWC) for a six-year term. He is currently completing his first term as Commissioner. The VWC’s three Commissioners, R. Ferrell Newman, Wesley G. Marshall, and Robert A. Rapaport, serve as appellate-level judges at the agency and direct its operations and staff of 290.

Commissioner Rapaport, of Virginia Beach, was appointed to the Commission in 2017. He is a 1976 graduate of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and earned his Juris Doctor degree in 1979 from the Marshall Wythe School of Law at the College of William and Mary. His appointment as Commissioner follows a 35‑year practice of law with a heavy concentration in workers’ compensation. He has served as President of the Virginia Workers' Compensation American Inn of Court and was inducted as a Fellow of the College of Workers’ Compensation Lawyers in 2018.