Honorable Robert A. Rapaport Named Chairman Of The Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission

Press Release Date

Robert Rapaport

[Richmond, VA]- Commissioner Robert A. Rapaport has been elected to a three-year term as Chairman of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission (VWC), effective July 1, 2021. He succeeds Commissioner R. Ferrell Newman, whose term ended June 30, 2021. Commissioner Rapaport, Commissioner Newman, and Commissioner Wesley G. Marshall, serve as appellate-level judges at the VWC and direct its operations and staff of 292.

Commissioner Rapaport, of Virginia Beach, was appointed to the Commission in 2017. He is a 1976 graduate of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and earned his Juris Doctor degree in 1979 from the Marshall Wythe School of Law at the College of William and Mary. His appointment as Commissioner follows a 35‑year practice of law with a heavy concentration in workers’ compensation. He has served as President of the Virginia Workers' Compensation American Inn of Court and was inducted as a Fellow of the College of Workers’ Compensation Lawyers in 2018.