Commissioner Wesley G. Marshall Reappointed for Third Term

Commissioner Wesley G. Marshall

The Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission is pleased to announce the reappointment of the Honorable Wesley G. Marshall as Commissioner for his third consecutive term. Commissioner Marshall's extensive experience and unwavering dedication have been invaluable assets to the Commission since he began his tenure in 2012. Before his work as a Commissioner, he represented plaintiffs in workers' compensation, employment, and other civil litigation matters as an attorney in private practice for 25 years. In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field, Commissioner Marshall was inducted as a Fellow in the College of Workers' Compensation Lawyers in 2015. He was appointed as President of the Southern Association of Workers Compensation Administrators in 2021, highlighting his leadership in the field of workers' compensation. Commissioner Marshall currently sits on the Boards of Directors for the International Association of Accident Boards and Commissions (IAIABC), the National Association of Workers' Compensation Judiciary (NAWCJ), and Kids Chance of Virginia.

Since 2012, Commissioner Marshall's dedication and commitment to serving injured workers, victims of crimes, employers, and related industries have been instrumental to the Commission's mission. The Commission invites everyone to join in congratulating him on his reappointment and continued service to the Commonwealth of Virginia.

About the Commission:


To serve injured workers, victims of crimes, employers, and related industries by providing exceptional services, resolving disputes, and faithfully executing the duties entrusted to us by the Commonwealth of Virginia.


The Commission is led by a Senior Leadership team consisting of three Commissioners, an Executive Director and a Chief Deputy Commissioner. Commissioners are appointed by the General Assembly and serve six-year terms.

Honorable Robert A. Rapaport, Honorable Wesley G. Marshall, and Honorable R. Ferrell Newman currently serve as Commissioners. The Commissioners elect a Chairman to serve a three-year term. Commissioner Rapaport currently serves as Chairman. Ms. Evelyn V. McGill is the Commission’s Executive Director and Honorable James J. Szablewicz is the Commission’s Chief Deputy Commissioner.


Lead the nation as the most effective and innovative state agency.

Core Values:

  • Innovative - Introducing or using new ideas or methods, in order to better serve our customers
  • Respectful - Marked by or showing respect or reverence at all times
  • Accountable - Required to explain actions or decisions
  • Reliable - Consistently able to be trusted to do or provide what is needed
  • Impartial - Treating all people and groups equally
  • Integrity - The quality of being honest and objective; conduct that is of the highest moral character/
  • Effective - Successful in producing a desired or intended result