Commission's Chairman Named Vice President of the Southern Association of Workers' Compensation Administrators' Board

Read the full press release here.

[Manalapan, Florida]- The Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission is proud to announce Chairman Robert A. Rapaport has been selected to serve as Vice President of the Southern Association of Workers' Compensation Administrators' Board (SAWCA). This selection was announced during SAWCA's 74th Annual Convention, held July 11-15, 2022 at the Eau Palm Beach Resort & Spa in Manalapan, Florida.

“I am excited to embrace the opportunity to be involved with SAWCA and its members. Being chosen to help lead this group of workers’ compensation professionals truly is an honor.” stated Rapaport.

Chairman Rapaport is a 1976 graduate of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and earned his Juris Doctor degree in 1979 from the Marshall Wythe School of Law at the College of William and Mary. Rapaport was in private practice for 35 years with a heavy concentration in workers’ compensation. He was a founding member and past president of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Inns of Court and inducted as a Fellow in the College of Workers’ Compensation Lawyers in 2019. He was appointed to the Commission in February 2017, by the Virginia General Assembly.

About The Commission
The Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission (VWC), established in 1918, is an independent judicial and administrative state agency that oversees the workers’ compensation system for employees, employers, and insurers. VWC interprets and applies the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act and resolves claims through hearings and mediation.

The Commission is led by a Senior Leadership team consisting of three Commissioners, an Executive Director and a Chief Deputy Commissioner. Commissioners are selected by the General Assembly and serve six-year terms. Honorable R. Ferrell Newman, Honorable Wesley G. Marshall and Honorable Robert A. Rapaport currently serve as Commissioners. The Commissioners elect a Chairman to serve a three-year term. Commissioner Rapaport currently serves as Chairman. Ms. Evelyn V. McGill is the Commission’s Executive Director and the Honorable James J. Szablewicz is the Commission’s Chief Deputy Commissioner.

Leading the way in electronic data and claims filing systems, in 2021 VWC processed over 34,000 claims and issued over 3,000 judicial opinions. VWC also administers the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund, the Uninsured Employer’s Fund, and adjudicates claims under the Virginia Birth-Related Neurological Injury Compensation Program. Headquartered in Richmond, Virginia, VWC operates regional offices in Bristol, Virginia Beach, Roanoke, Harrisonburg, Manassas and Fairfax.

For more information about this topic, or to schedule an interview, please email Charles Steepleton or call 877-664-2566.